Japan Korea China
Home About Us Kosher Basics Kosher Certification FAQ Contact Us
Kosher Inspection
Jewish Studies
What is Jewish Cuisine?    

Jewish cuisine is the product of Jewish dietary laws, Jewish Sabbath laws, Jewish holiday rituals, and the local food and cooking customs of the many lands in which Jews have lived over the centuries.

In other words, Jewish cuisine is a unique synthesis of foods from around the world that have been adapted to meet the constraints of Jewish religious law and/or developed to fulfill Jewish cultural needs.;
What constitutes Kosher food?    
In determining whether a recipe you want to post is Kosher, bear in mind the basic concepts of Kosher food: no mixing of dairy and meat; no pork or pork products; no shell fish.

This also applies to food products containing such ingredients. For example, a food coloring made from a shell fish would be considered unKosher and would taint the food in which it might be used. Similarly, using, e.g., an animal fat together with dairy ingredients renders the product unKosher and taints even the implements used in making it.

If a recipe is not in keeping with these basic requirements, consider whether substitutions can be made to adjust it for "kashruth" (e.g., substituting margarine for butter in a meat recipe). If you are unsure of how to make such substitutions, post the recipe and ask for suggestions as how to do so. Please note clearly that the recipe is not fundamentally Kosher.
What foods are forbidden?    
With regard to meat, it is easier to say which is permitted rather than forbidden! Our Torah tells us the signs of a Kosher animal are that it chews its cud and has split hooves. Pigs have split hooves but do not chew their cud. Some other animals chew the cud but don't have split hooves. (camels, horses). Basically beef lamb and venison is allowed, rabbits and other small game animals are not. With birds only chickens, ducks and turkeys are permitted. Fish have to have both fins and scales in order to be Kosher, thus ruling out shellfish, eels, sharks, sturgeon etc. In order for meat and poultry to be Kosher, it has also to be slaughtered in a special way, then the meat drained of blood and salted. Jews are not allowed to consume blood. This little known fact rather makes a lie of the middle ages "blood libel" which accused Jews of murdering gentile babies for their blood.
What is Passover?    
Passover is an eight day Jewish holiday, of Biblical origin, marking the birth of the Jews as a people and their emergence as a unique nation in history, devoted to G-d's will. It celebrates the liberation of the children of Israel from slavery in Egypt over 3000 years ago, under the leadership of Moses.

Home About Us Kosher Basics Kosher Certification FAQ Contact Us
Designed and Developed by Indocosmo Systems Pvt Ltd